Easy Cultured Mayonnaise

Easy cultured mayonnaise

Easy cultured mayonnaise

Prior to moving out here I had very little interest in food preparation, in fact I saw it as a necessary chore to be endured and tried to minimise time spent doing it (I lived on stuff on toast when I was in the city).  My attitude to food preparation has changed dramatically since moving out here.

Being involved in the production of an ingredient from the very beginning (whether it be through germinating a seed or tending livestock) makes food preparation magical, rather than mundane, for me.  The intimate involvement with our food throughout its lifespan inspires more kitchen time and it’s really exciting to work with food of the highest possible quality and freshness.

Eggs from our small flock of ill-mannered chickens never get boring and without fail, whenever one is cracked open, we exclaim how rich and orange the yolks are.  They truly are a thing of beauty!

Happy, healthy hens produce the most incredible eggs.

Happy, healthy hens produce the most incredible eggs.

So today, I decided to try a recipe where those nutrient-packed yolks would star: mayonnaise.  And for a dash of extra goodness I went for a cultured variety (lacto-fermenting will also hopefully extend the shelf life).

I found a bunch of recipes for cultured condiments at Cultures for Health and used this recipe on Cheeseslave as a guide.

HUMPY CREEK EASY CULTURED MAYONNAISE

Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks at room temperature
  • 5 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon wholegrain mustard (that was all we had in the cupboard)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups olive oil (I used really good quality cold-pressed, extra virgin oil from Toscana Olives)
  • 2 tablespoons kefir whey (you can use yogurt whey)

Method

I did all of the mixing by hand with a fork because we don’t own a whisk and our solar power system isn’t strong enough to support kitchen appliances.  It’s doable by hand but expect to have a sore arm by then end – a blender will make your life a lot easier.

  1. Mix egg yolks for several minutes, until it starts to thicken a bit and look creamy.
  2. Add lemon juice, mustard and salt and mix for a bit longer (I did a couple of minutes by hand).
  3. Very slowly add olive oil while mixing (I had to use a teaspoon to dribble the oil into the egg yolks while I mixed with the other hand, it took some time).  After adding the first cup of olive oil you can increase the speed at which you add it, just don’t go overboard.
  4. Add the kefir whey and mix.
The egg yolks after several minutes of being beaten with a fork.

The egg yolks after several minutes of being beaten with a fork.

The Verdict

With the really good quality cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil the flavour is quite rich, we like it but some people may find it overpowering, in which case a lighter flavoured olive oil would be the go.  Even though I used wholegrain mustard out of necessity it’s worked well and I’ll keep using it for future mayo making.  With a bit of home-grown garlic this mayonnaise will be  an incredible aioli for dipping chunky potato chips in!  (We will be trying the latter this week.)

Mayo 4